What is and what could be (repeat X n)

Hat tip to @ideahive on twitter for leading me to this insightful video. When I first got into storytelling I scoured all the books on story arcs, storycycles and the famous springboard of Denning and fable template of Snowden but this pattern that Nancy Duarte illuminates in this recent TED talk hints at something much more powerful.

In hindsight, my best received presentations in the past have all followed this pattern and all the most inspiring talks I have ever heard from David Bellamy to Dave Snowden have had so much in common with this simple beat.

At only 18 minutes I highly recommend you make a cup of tea and get ready to take notes. Watch out in particular for a wonderful sailing metaphor which I am certain I will re-use. enjoy…

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

