Story-Trophic cascades

Perhaps it is working with TRIZ that has improved my analogous thinking but I watched this incredible video about ‘How Wolves Change Rivers’ and thought:

If Trophic Cascades are brought about by re-introducing a previously removed key species in an ecosystem, what might be the analogous effect of re-introducing storytellers, or even better PNI (Participatory Narrative Inquiry) facilitators who work with stories, back into a community.

I have just delivered the first of two experiments to run a Story Based workshop locally with local business friends who run their own small businesses. My intention was primarily to share with them a few of the lessons, methods and tools I have learned that have made a difference to me. From the feedback I have received I achieved the impact I so desired.

What surprised me was the amount of collaboration that occurred during the event and ‘cascaded’ onto social media afterwards. Unlike previous workshops where I have purposefully asked pairs to look for common ground or potential creative combination ideas, I never directly mentioned it this time.

It has only been 48 hours since the workshop ended and already I am aware of a surge of contacts via email, twitter and Facebook. Invites have been received to join google hangouts and physical Friday afternoon business networks. Three books and one painting sold. One participant going live on the radio and internet TV as a nutrition expert with potential to have a new career as a text jockey.

Now if one workshop with 8 participants can generate a cascade of collaborative energy this strong in 48 hours, just imagine if this was carried out in your area with your local businesses and if these businesses were coached and facilitated to build further relationships using stories we could change more than just rivers …

Leave a Reply

